The Bunny Mellon Landscape Design Prize

The ICAA is pleased to offer The Bunny Mellon Landscape Design Prize, which recognizes the excellence and creativity of a project from an emerging landscape or architectural design professional or student whose work is inspired by classical or traditional design, holistically considers the symbiosis between outdoor environments and physical structures, and interweaves garden and architectural elements within their design. This prize acknowledges exceptional work that furthers the ICAA’s belief that the unity of architecture, design, craftsmanship, and landscape are vital to lasting and meaningful places, in the spirit of Bunny Mellon’s ceaseless interest, passion, and pleasure in gardens, horticulture, and design. This prize is presented annually as part of the Bunny Mellon Landscape Curricula at the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art.

There is one Bunny Mellon Landscape Design Prize awarded each year to an emerging professional or student for a singular project that best meets the prize’s criteria. The winner will receive a $1,500 cash prize, and will be recognized at the ICAA Southeast Garden Symposium: An Exploration of Architecture & Landscape, April 30-May 1 in Atlanta, with weekend and travel expenses paid. Their work will be exhibited at the Symposium and announced on ICAA social media, our website, and other media and promotional materials. The top three finalists will receive the recognition of “Highly Commended” from the jury, and their work will be recognized at the Symposium.


The Bunny Mellon Landscape Design Prize is the result of the Gerald B. Lambert Foundation's landmark gift that created and supports the study and practice of the landscape arts as part of the ICAA's Bunny Mellon Curricula. The Curricula honors Bunny Mellon, visionary garden designer and leading contributor to the horticultural arts, with programming that addresses the importance of garden and landscape design as part of the traditionally built environment.

The ICAA is very grateful to the Gerard B. Lambert Foundation for its generous support of this program, along with the Curricula's Lead Co-Sponsor Edmund D. Hollander Landscape Architecture Design, Bunny Mellon Landscape Design Prize Co-Sponsor Harrison Design, and Garden Symposium Co-Sponsor Kathryn M. and Ronald J. Herman Charitable Foundation.

Award categories
Recognition at the ICAA Southeast Garden Symposium: An Exploration of Architecture & Landscape; $1,500 Prize
Highly Commended
Recognition at the ICAA Southeast Garden Symposium: An Exploration of Architecture & Landscape
Winners from
Alexandra Bolinder Gibsand
Winston Grant-Preece
Highly Commended


The submission deadline for the 2021 Bunny Mellon Landscape Design Prize is December 15th, 2020.

Application Documents

Applicants must submit the following:

  1. Professional Statement: In 500 words or less, describe the project submitted for consideration, how it fits the prize criteria, and the ICAA and Bunny Mellon’s mission of recognizing holistic work that intertwines architecture, design, and the natural landscape
  2. Project submission:
    1. Required: PDF with a maximum of five 11x17 sheets of a single project that includes plans for natural landscape and any additional hardscape features or structures, as applicable
      1. must describe entrants' role and others’ roles, if applicable
      2. Sheets can include hand sketches, photographs of in progress or completed projects, digital renderings, etc.
    2. Beneficial but not required: one video of a 3-D project model, and/or one photograph of a 3-D project model
  3. CV: (maximum two pages)
  4. Letter of Recommendation: from an academic or professional contact describing the characteristics that make the entrant and their work deserving of the Landscape Design Award
  5. Interview: with member of the education team and jury chair (interviews only offered to top five short list candidates)

Applications must be submitted through the 2021 Bunny Mellon Landscape Design Prize Entry Form. Hard copy applications will not be accepted.


The jury will judge each project both by its conception and execution. Please read the full criteria for judging here.


The ICAA reserves the right to publish, electronically post, or display at its national headquarters images of the projects of the winner and three Highly Commended finalists. Images may be used in future promotion of the Bunny Mellon Landscape Design Prize for subsequent application rounds. Such work results will remain the property of the applicant but permission to so reproduce or display must be granted by the prize recipient upon receiving the prize; decisions about where and how to so show will be made by Institute staff in partnership with the Prize jury. It is the responsibility of the ICAA to cover any and all related display costs as deemed most appropriate.


  1. Architects, landscape architects, design professionals, horticulturists, urban planners, students in these fields, and/or interested people with relevant experience or education can participate in this prize.
  2. Both international and domestic US entrants will be considered.
  3. Entrants may submit up to two projects for consideration.
  4. All entrants must have been 35 years old or younger on 31st December 2019 OR be within the first seven years of their relevant design career. Alumni from the ICAA and Oak Spring Garden Foundation are encouraged to apply.
  5. Entrants must have been the primary or significant contributor on projects that were worked on by a team. Entry materials must specify the entrant’s role in the project and that of other contributors. Only one prize is given to an individual, so additional team members besides the entrant will not be recognized.
  6. Entries are required as digital files only. Hard copies of drawings or models will not be accepted.
  7. Projects for consideration may include completed projects, projects in progress, or detailed plans. Student work is welcomed.
  8. Projects for consideration may include residential or non-residential new construction, historic preservation/restoration projects, or reimaginations of existing architectural and landscape sites.
  9. All entry materials must be submitted before December 15th, 2020. Incomplete entries or entries received after December 15th, 2020 will not be considered. Entries will be reviewed by the jury in January and February and finalists and winners will be notified early spring 2021.

Please Inquire

Contact Mollie Wohlforth ([email protected]) or call 212-730-9646 ext. 115 with questions.

Many Thanks to Our Sponsors