Institute of Classical Architecture & Art

Awards & Prizes


The Arthur Ross Awards in celebration of the classical tradition, which is held each year on the first Monday of May, has become a very successful special event for ICAA friends, members, and supporters. A fundraiser to further the educational mission of the Institute, the Arthur Ross Awards gala serves to honor those working in the classical tradition, and brings together our community for a festive spring event. Simultaneously, it eponymously celebrates the enduring example of our late Honorary Chairman.

A number of the ICAA Chapters host annual award ceremonies to celebrate regional achievements in classical and traditional architecture and design:

The John Russell Pope Awards recognize the best work of individuals who contribute to the creation of classical and traditional architecture in the Washington Mid Atlantic region.

The Acanthus Awards, presented by the Chicago-Midwest Chapter promote excellence in classical and vernacular design.

The Florida Chapter’s Annual Addison Mizner Medal recognizes excellence in 21st-century classical architecture, design, and related fields, honoring the achievements and contributions of those preserving and advancing the classical tradition.

The Bulfinch Awards, presented by the New England Chapter recognize excellence in New England Classical and Traditional Design.

In Northern California, the Julia Morgan Awards recognize architects and designers, artisans, students, and patrons on a local level for their excellence in the contemporary practice and support of the classical traditions.

The Trumbauer Awards recognize the work of individuals and firms to preserve and advance the classical tradition in the Philadelphia region. It is named for internationally renowned, native Philadelphian architect Horace Trumbauer (1868-1938) and celebrates contemporary classical projects that express the breadth and inclusiveness celebrated in Trumbauer’s expansive work.

The Robert & Judi Newman Awards for Excellence in Classical and Traditional Design are presented annually by the Rocky Mountain Chapter.

The Southeast Chapter’s Philip Trammell Shutze Awards recognize excellence among regional practitioners in several categories.

The Texas Chapter’s John Staub Awards program honors Texas based practitioners who are committed to promoting excellence in both classical and vernacular traditions.

In the New York Tri-State region, the Stanford White Awards recognize the achievements of individual projects in architecture, interiors, landscape, urbanism, and building craftsmanship & artisanship throughout New York, New Jersey, and Fairfield County, Connecticut.

The ICAA is also pleased to offer two biennial prizes, the Rieger Graham Prize for architecture and the Alma Schapiro Prize for fine artists. The prizes alternate years and grant the recipient a three-month Fellowship at the American Academy in Rome, the premier overseas center for independent study and research in the fine arts and humanities. The prizes are limited to United States citizens. The purpose of both prizes is to advance the career of the architect or artist recipient and to foster the continuity of knowledge of the classical tradition as a vital aspect of contemporary culture around the globe.