Award for Emerging Excellence in the Classical Tradition

The Award for Emerging Excellence in the Classical Tradition recognizes exceptional talent exhibited by one young professional in classical and traditional architecture, landscape and interior design, building crafts, urban design and planning, or the allied arts. Launched in 2017, the Award is a collaboration between the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art (ICAA), The Prince’s Foundation (PF), and the International Network for Traditional Building, Architecture & Urbanism (INTBAU).  

The relevance and importance of these skills grows each year, as the rise of homogeneous globalization and standardization threatens our individual cultures of building and craft. The Award for Emerging Excellence in the Classical Tradition aims to shine a light on exceptional talent and reward young people in the industry. The Award for Emerging Excellence in the Classical Tradition is open to applicants from around the world, and the winner will be formally announced at the internationally known and established Arthur Ross Awards in New York City each year.

Image: 2017 Award for Emerging Excellence winner Emily Bedard's "Ornamental Plaster, Edward M. Kennedy Institute"

Winners from
Cailin Shannon
Emily Bedard - Sculptor
Award for Emerging Excellence in the Classical Tradition

Cailin Shannon leading a sketching session in Ahmedabad, India

Cailin contributed to master planning and architecture for a new mews project in Daybreak, UT, offering a walkable lifestyle attainable for many first-time homebuyers (Project completed with Opticos Design)

Illustration of placetypes for Kaua’i, to explain compact future island development patterns that promote both better quality of life and protection of precious natural and agricultural lands (Project completed with Opticos Design)

Sketchbook drawing by Cailin Shannon of a typical pol lane and haveli in Ahmedabad, India

Statue of Liberty for Seaside Monument, by Emily Bedard

Ornamental Plaster, Edward M. Kennedy Institute, by Emily Bedard

Plaster molding, by Emily Bedard

Bas-relief, by Emily Bedard

Plaster Molding, by Emily Bedard

Deadline & Submissions


The submission deadline for all applications is February 25, 2019.

What to Submit

Application form

• Personal statement (maximum 200 words)

• Portfolio: PDF of a maximum of five 11 × 17 sheets (must describe your role and others’ roles, if applicable)

• CV (maximum 2 pages)

• Letter of Recommendation from an academic or professional contact describing the personal and leadership characteristics that make the entrant deserving of the Award for Emerging Excellence in the Classical Tradition

How to Submit

Email your application packet to [email protected] Only electronic submissions will be accepted. The submission deadline for all applications is February 25, 2019. Incomplete, hard copy, or late submittals will not be considered.


Architects, design professionals, urban planners, building craftspeople, and interested people from all over the world can participate in this award. All entrants must have been 35 years old or younger on December 31, 2018. Alumni from the PF, INTBAU, and ICAA are encouraged to apply.

Assessment Criteria

In addition to the merits of the personal statement and personal credentials, the jury will look for exceptional skill in the applicant’s chosen field, as demonstrated in the their portfolio. Theoretical and practical merit will therefore determine the selected entrant.

The Winning Entrant

To match the level of prestige of The Award for Emerging Excellence in the Classical Tradition, the ICAA will cover the cost of travel and accommodation for the winner to be formally acknowledged in conjunction with the ICAA’s planned Arthur Ross Awards panel discussion and during the cocktail reception which will accompany the panel discussion. Additionally, The Award for Emerging Excellence in the Classical Tradition winner will be invited to attend the Arthur Ross Awards on Monday, May 6, 2019 and will be acknowledged before the audience as well.  In addition to the above, the Award Winner will receive a $2,500 cash prize. 

About the ICAA

The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art’s (ICAA) mission is to advance the appreciation and practice of the principles of traditional architecture and its allied arts by engaging educators, professionals, students, and enthusiasts. The ICAA is headquartered in New York City with regional Chapters across the United States. It offers a wide array of programs that are designed to promote the appreciation and practice of classical and traditional design, including classes, travel, lectures, and conferences. It publishes an academic journal called the Classicist as well as the acclaimed book series called the Classical America Series in Art and Architecture. The ICAA’s Arthur Ross Award annually recognizes and celebrates excellence in the classical tradition internationally. The ICAA was honored to bestow an Arthur Ross Award on HRH The Prince of Wales in the Patronage category in 1990.


INTBAU was established in 2001, and has since gained 32 chapters and 6,000 members in over 100 countries worldwide. We work under the patronage of our founder, HRH The Prince of Wales. INTBAU’s mission is to support traditional building, the maintenance of local character, and the creation of better places to live. We do this through workshops, summer schools, study tours, conferences, awards, and competitions. Our three objectives are to research, educate, and engage as widely as possible on the value and relevance of traditional architecture and urban design. INTBAU is a unique, established resource for global knowledge of traditional architecture and urban design. Our active network consists of individuals and institutions who design, make, maintain, study, or enjoy traditional buildings and places.

About PF 

The Prince's Foundation was created in 2018, as a result of the consolidation of four existing charities, The Prince's Foundation for Building Community, The Prince's Regeneration Trust, The Great Steward of Scotland's Dumfries House Trust, and The Prince's School of Traditional Arts.

The Prince's Foundation by focusing on three core tiers - Education, Projects, and Attractions - delivers work to improve the built environment, save heritage, and promote culture and education. Through education The Prince's Foundation aims to create sustainably planned, built, and maintained communities, championing and celebrating the most important part of any community: its people. The charity continues to train a generation of architects, masterplanners, and placemakers, in order to ensure the continuation of the kind of timeless skills which have been developed over generations.