Institute of Classical Architecture & Art

Awards & Prizes


2003 Arthur Ross Award Winners


Ferguson & Shamamian Architects, LLP, New York, New York

Landscape Design

Charles J. Stick, Charlottesville, Virginia

Mural Painting

Aleksander Popovic, Brooklyn, New York


Dick Reid, York, England


The Citizens of Nashville, Tennessee & The State of Oklahoma


The Beehive Press With special recognition for Mills Lane, Savannah, Georgia


Anton Glikin, Brooklyn, New York

In its 21st year, the Arthur Ross Awards Ceremony is upon us in its traditional classical splendor. Since 1982, the Ross Awards have served as beacons signaling excellence in the classical tradition across a range of disciplines, recognizing the achievements and contributions of not only the practitioners of the arts but their patrons as well. This year’s selections reflect an even greater pool of talented candidates as a result of the recent merger between Classical America and The Institute of Classical Architecture, now known as The Institute of Classical Architecture & Classical America (ICAA). As a stronger organization, united in the celebration and preservation of the classical tradition across disciplines, the ICAA has selected this year’s recipients from a diverse group of architects, sculptors, painters, artisans, educators, historians, landscape architects, gardeners, stewards, and patrons, all dedicated to the preservation and advancement of Classicism in the fields of art and architecture.

The Arthur Ross Awards are the brainchild of the former President of Classical America, Henry Hope Reed and philanthropist, Arthur Ross. Reed explains that Arthur Ross saw the awards as a buttress to the Classical America Series in Art and Architecture, Classical America’s book series dedicated to classical scholarship. Reed says, “Ross urged that in several award categories we look beyond architecture to all of the arts. That, for example, we recognize the professional gardener as well as the landscape architect, and that patronage not be overlooked.” He adds, “I look to recognize the humbler class of laborers in the vineyard.” In fact, one of the unique characteristics of the Ross Awards is its presentation of certificates of excellence to lesser-known practitioners and craftspeople.

Arthur Ross, the Awards’ sponsor, is an esteemed patron whose generosity has benefited many other prestigious arts organizations. He believes that craftspeople who actually do the work should receive public praise just as architects are widely recognized for their designs. He also supports public acknowledgement of those who commit funding to classically designed projects. Arthur Ross and his wife Janet will serve as Honorary Chairs of this year’s awards ceremony which will be, for the first time, a benefit evening to support the programs of the ICAA for the coming year. As he has every year the awards have been presented, Ross has had a hand in the selection of the always intriguing and distinguished keynote speaker for the evening, which in past years has included Brooke Astor, Arthur Schlesinger, Jr., and Brendan Gill, and this year will feature noted author Philip K. Howard.

The honorees themselves are chosen each year by a selection committee that receives nominations in one of two ways. The committee receives submissions from a call for nominations that is placed in publications dedicated to the classical tradition such as, Traditional Building and The Forum newsletter, as well as several web-based list-serves. Nominations are also accepted from ICAA Board members and Fellows as well as professional colleagues. The selection committee, composed of members of the ICAA Board and professionals in the fields of design and publishing, then reviews the nominations in up to 11 possible categories, generally awarding between five and eight recipients each year. The honorees selected are comprised of practitioners of the classical tradition who are either already distinguished in their respective fields or are lesser-known practitioners of excellent, present day classical work.

Originally conceived to recognize individuals in the fields of art and architecture, the Ross Awards have evolved over the years, expanding the categories in which candidates may be selected. For example, the Emily Post-inspired category, Stewardship/Good Manners, was established in 1991 in the interest of preservation. This award recognizes patrons of new construction that respectfully maintain an existing building’s façade. Previous recipients have included Saks Fifth Avenue and the Swiss Bank Corpo?ration, Margaret Halsey Gardiner of The Merchant’s House Museum, and others.

The Institute of Classical Architecture & Classical America have combined their resources to continue the commitment to foster and further the classical tradition outside of classical circles. To this end, the Awards serve as a public forum in which to honor such individuals who are rarely the object of traditional media attention. Serving as a way to recognize the recipients’ notable work or generosity, the Arthur Ross Awards reaffirm the living spirit of the classical tradition while instilling pride in its growing community of dedicated practitioners and supporters.