Institute of Classical Architecture & Art

Awards & Prizes


2004 Arthur Ross Award Winners


Scott Merrill and George Pastor, Merrill and Pastor Architects


John Canning


Charles Peterson

Architectural Renderer

Michael McCann


Colin G. Campbell and John D. Rockefeller, Jr.

In May 3, the 22nd annual Arthur Ross Awards for excellence in the classical tradition were held at the St. Regis Hotel in New York City. This year’s ceremony was a phenomenal success; 360 attended and the ICAA raised over $100,000 in support of its educational and membership programs.

The awardees were selected from a broad range of disciplines that reflect the diversity and vitality of Classicism today. Scott Merrill and George Pastor accepted the award in Architecture for Merrill and Pastor Architects, and were recognized for their work in the planned towns of Windsor and Seaside and elsewhere. John Canning received an award in the category of Artisanship for his work in the applied decorative arts and his involvement in the restoration of national architectural landmarks. Charles Peterson was honored for creating the Historical American Building Survey, and his role in historical preservation with an award for History. Michael McCann, an Architectural Renderer, was awarded for his illustrations of architectural commissions and master plans for projects around the world. In the category of Stewardship and Patronage, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, Colin G. Campbell, Chairman and President, and its founder, John D. Rockefeller, Jr., were recognized for more than 70 years of preservation and restoration of a complete historical context which illustrates early colonial life and its urban setting.

The evening began with cocktails in the Astor Apartments where an exhibition showing a variety of work from each of the five awardees was displayed; dinner and the awards presentation followed. Paul Gunther, ICAA president, opened the evening’s presentation, followed by Gil Schafer, Chairman of the ICAA Board of Directors, who presented the awards. Following dinner, Adele Chatfield-Taylor, President of the American Academy in Rome and Member of the ICAA Board, introduced the keynote speaker, Jaquelin Robertson, founding partner of Cooper Robertson & Partners, former Dean of the University of Virginia School of Architecture, and Chairman of this year’s Awards Jury.

Participants of the awards jury were members of the ICAA Council of Advisors John Blatteau, Gary Brewer, Mark Ferguson, Eve Kahn, and Sarah Medford; members of the ICAA Board of Directors, Henry Hope Reed, and Richard Sammons; and ICAA Fellows Leonard Porter and Seth Weine. Seth Weine served as Coordinator for the awards jury.

Members of the ARA Planning Committee included ICAA Staff, Board Members, Fellows and volunteers Jeffrey Hall, Clem Labine, Paul Gunther, Henrika Taylor, Nora Martin, James Bleecker, Margaret Halsey Gardiner, Tom McManus, Elisa Cuaron, Seth Weine, Bill Brockschmidt, Gary Lawrence, and Daron Builta. Suzanne Santry and Courtney Coleman served as co-chairs of the Committee. Special thanks to Gary Lawrence for making the garden folly centerpieces and to all who were involved in the production of their beautiful landscaped platforms.

In the words of ICAA President Paul Gunther, the Arthur Ross awards “exemplify well our mission to sustain and interpret the best lessons from our design past for the sake of a better and more humane built future.”