Institute of Classical Architecture & Art

Awards & Prizes


2005 Arthur Ross Award Winners


Demetri Porphyrios, London, United Kingdom


John E. Benson, Newport, Rhode Island

Landscape Design

Deborah Nevins and Associates, New York, New York


Dover Publications Inc., Minneola, New York


The Biltmore Estate, Asheville, North Carolina

On May 9, 2005 the Institute of Classical Architecture & Classical America hosted the annual Arthur Ross Awards celebrating
excellence in the classical tradition at the University Club in New York City. Special thanks to Jeffrey Hall and Suzanne Santry,
Planning Committee Co-chairs, and the dedicated event volunteers including Lauren Hall, Evan Hall, Nathanial Brotherhood,
and ICAA Fellows Nora Martin, Aimee Buccellato, Courtney Coleman, William Brockschmidt, Leonard Porter, Tom McManus, and Seth Joseph Weine. The event was a huge success, with proceeds going towards supporting the ICAA’s diverse roster of educational and member programs. Over 370 members, donors, friends of the Institute, and supporters of the classical tradition attended the dinner and awards ceremony, which was presented by ICAA Chairman of the board, Gil Schafer III and ICAA Council of Advisors member Robert A.M. Stern. Mr. Tim Gogelein, Deputy Director of Public Liaison at the White House delivered a letter of support from President George W. Bush recognizing the Institute’s vast efforts in the promotion of the classical tradition in architecture and the allied arts.