Institute of Classical Architecture & Art

Awards & Prizes


2007 Arthur Ross Award Winners


Michael G. Imber Architect, PLLC, San Antonio, Texas


The Rambusch Company, Jersey City, New Jersey


Peter Hodson, Portsmouth, United Kingdom


Acanthus Press LLC, New York, New York


The World Monuments Fund, New York, New York
(with affiliates in France, Italy, Portugal, Spain, and the United Kingdom)

The award winners were selected from over 150 nominations submitted to a jury chaired by Bunny Williams, author, designer, and founding president of Bunny Williams, Inc. of New York. Her fellow jurors were artist and woodcarver David Esterly; journalist and author Dominique Browning; authors and architects Marc Appleton and Anne Fairfax; city planner and philanthropist, Carolyn S. Brody; building entrepreneur Jeffrey L. Davis; and author and philanthropist, Elizabeth Gerschel. Marc Appleton and Jeff Davis also serve on the Institute’s board of directors; and Anne Fairfax is our newly-elected board chair. The jury coordinator was architect Phillip Dodd of Wadia Associates in New Canaan, Connecticut who also serves as a Fellow of the ICAA. The Arthur Ross Awards encompass eleven eligible categories: architecture, artisanship, community design, education, history and publishing, landscape design, mural painting, patronage, rendering, sculpture, and stewardship.

This year for the first time, as recommended by the 2007 jury, the board of directors has decided to recognize Robert A.M. Stern, founding partner of Robert A.M. Stern Architects and Dean of the Yale School of Architecture in a distinctive way that traverses several of the Arthur Ross Award categories. The board has done so for Dean Stern’s ongoing and far-reaching contributions in architecture, education, and publishing. The recent publication of New York 2000: Architecture and Urbanism Between the Bicentennial and the Millennium as the final volume in his important five-part series prompts such unprecedented recognition this year.

Jury chair, Bunny Williams, has expressed her pleasure in discovering the work of a highly competitive, nationwide field of scholars, artists, stewards, and practitioners at the frontlines of sustaining the classical tradition today in essentially related ways. I am grateful to her for conceiving the board of directors special honor initiative, which will be awarded to Bob Stern and then again only when an individual rises to the level of Mr. Stern as educator, scholar, design professional, and civic champion. Applicants to the Ross Awards remain under consideration in future jury rounds, as in all cases these awards recognize ongoing, career achievement. In addition to the new applications we look forward to receiving, it is gratifying to know that so many will remain in consideration.

I am also grateful that a growing roster of members has joined in commending the awards jury for this year’s selections. Together, they exemplify our mission to sustain and interpret the lessons of the classical tradition for the sake of a better, more humane and sustainable built future across the country. We are pleased that the generous leadership and civic example of our co-founder and honorary chairman, Arthur Ross, is celebrated each year with these inter-disciplinary awards.

The chairs of this year’s Arthur Ross Awards gathering are Bill and Deborah Harrison of Atlanta, Georgia. Bill Harrison serves on the ICAA board of directors and is a co-founder of the Institute’s Southeast Chapter. He is the founder and president of Harrison Design Associates of Atlanta and Santa Barbara, California. Like all board members, as well as our members and friends, Bill is pleased in this way to assist the Institute’s growing role in design education today as we strive together to improve standards around the country in architecture and its vital allied arts. Proceeds from this event help broaden the ICAA’s range of public service to include additional non-architect home builders, other dynamic chapters of Habitat for Humanity International for whom design excellence can help foster diverse communities, and the advent of a Master of Science in Architecture degree that is announced on page 3. I close in thanking our events colleague, Joanna Berritt, and trustee, Suzanne Santry, whose volunteer labors in behalf of the Arthur Ross Awards enterprise are a foremost reason for its success.


Paul Gunther