Institute of Classical Architecture & Art

Awards & Prizes


On May 5, 2008, the ICAA celebrated the 27th Anniversary of the Arthur Ross Awards for Excellence in the Classical Tradition at the University Club in New York. Close to 400 people gathered to recognize this year’s winners and to pay tribute to the ICAA’s late and beloved co-founder, Arthur Ross. His leadership, generosity, and wise counsel set a guiding standard for the Institute for years to come. The event drew ICAA friends and ‘family’ in celebration of classical work past, present and future. The evening began with Alan Greenberg, this year’s jury chair with Anne Fairfax, ICAA chair, presenting this year’s winners with their awards:


John Simpson, London, UK

Largely influenced by Georgian sources, John Simpson creates architecture that is timeless yet responds to contemporary requirements. He is accomplished in the field of urban design, first coming to prominence with his design for Paternoster Square, London, in the early 1990s. In 1999, he won the competition to redevelop the Queen’s Gallery as a public gateway at Buckingham Palace and has worked extensively with the Prince’s Foundation. Allan Greenberg states “His initial design for Paternoster Square is, in my opinion, the single best example of great urban design in nearly eight decades and the newQueen’s Gallery reveals the hand of a true master architect.”


The American College of the Building Arts, Charleston, SC

Dedicated to educating the next generation of building artisans, The American College of the Building Arts (ACBA) is America’s first and only four-year degree granting institution that combines a liberal arts degree with a traditional trade school apprenticeship. Graduates of the college have specialized degrees in Stone Carving, Architectural Metals, Finish Carpentry, Timberframing, or Plastering. As trained artisans, they utilize materials with a high level of sophistication, and will become the next generation of professionals and stewards, preserving and recreating America’s rich building legacy.


Mark Alan Hewitt, Bernardsville, NJ

A prolific historian and educator, Mark Alan Hewitt merges his training in the classical tradition with his experience as an architect to offer a unique perspective. He constantly strives to reframe the debate on historic buildings in ways that make them more natural denizens of the community we live in now, and less like untouchable artifacts. He is the author of countless articles and books including: The Architect and the American Country Home (1890-1940), The Architecture of Mott B. Schmidt, and Gustav Stickley’s Craftsman Farms: The Quest for an Arts & Crafts Utopia.


Alexander Creswell, Surrey, UK

During his 28-year career, British watercolorist and author Alexander Creswell has specialized in the depiction of architecture and the spirit of place.He is passionate about the architecture of great civilizations and has been an innovative force in his chosen media of watercolor, pushing the form to new levels in both vibrancy and scale. His work continues the long tradition of architectural watercolorists, yet he achieves an important and respected place in the twenty-first century.He is perhaps best known for his series of paintings recording the fire-ravaged rooms at Windsor Castle before and after restoration and for his dramatic portrayal of ruins published in The Silent Houses of Britain.


The Committee to Save the City, Charleston, SC

Through grassroots efforts, The Committee to Save the City has made major strides to restore the peaceful ambience of Charleston’s neighborhoods and to protect its fragile historic districts. The Committee has been responsible for initiating constructive changes in zoning codes and tourist regulations within the Historic District of Charleston and their activism prompted the Mayor of Charleston to create a Tourism Management Forum to shape the future of the local industry. Since its inception more than ten years ago, the Committee has grown from a membership of four to over 500 and serves as a model for other historic neighborhoods in America.

Download the PDF featuring this years Honorees

Next Richard Cameron presented Alvin Holm, AIA with the Board of Directors’ Honor — an architectural model made by Timothy Richards — for his long dedication to the Institute as an educator, board member, chapter president, friend, and supporter.

Special thanks go to Mrs. Arthur Ross, Honorary Chair and Alfred and Jane Ross, Dinner Co-chairs for making the evening such a great success. Our thanks as well to our generous sponsors for the event, Christopher H. Browne, Barbara Sallick of Waterworks, and Roy and Kevin Zeluck of Zeluck, Inc.

As a special tribute to Arthur Ross, Adele Chatfield-Taylor, ICAA Trustee and President of the American Academy in Rome, spoke after dinner and introduced Alfred and Janet Ross, who gave their own personal remembrances. Images from Arthur’s life, his involvement with Classical America, and the establishment of the Awards program ended the evening with a celebration of Arthur’s legacy.