Institute of Classical Architecture & Art

Awards & Prizes


The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art announces the winners of the 2016 Arthur Ross Awards for Excellence in the Classical Tradition. In a dinner to be held on Monday, May 2nd at the University Club, the following will be honored, by category:


Duncan G. Stroik

Duncan G. Stroik is a practicing architect and, since 1990, Professor of Architecture at the University of Notre Dame. His built work includes the Our Lady of the Most Holy Trinity Chapel in Santa Paula, California; the Shrine Church of Our Lady of Guadalupe in LaCrosse, Wisconsin; and the Cathedral of Saint Joseph in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. Professor Stroik’s work utilizes hand drawing, full-scale details, and watercolor renderings. He enjoys working closely with painters, sculptors, and other craftsmen. A frequent lecturer on the principles of classical architecture and ecclesiastical design, Professor Stroik is also the author of The Church Building as a Sacred Place: Beauty, Transcendence, and the Eternal, and edits the journal Sacred Architecture.


Ciudad Cayalá

At the new town of Cayalá in Guatemala, mixed-use and programmatically tuned architectural variety has laid the foundation for a robust, emerging public realm. The major civic buildings, monuments, and amenities are situated in close connection with public spaces and vistas. The internationally acclaimed, award-winning project of Ciudad Cayalá was brought to fruition by the Town Architects of Cayalá, Maria Fernanda Sánchez and Pedro Pablo Godoy of Estudio Urbano (a firm based in Guatemala that specializes in urbanism, traditional architecture, and landscape design); previous Arthur Ross Award winner, architect, and urban planner Léon Krier; and the Leal family, led by developer Hector Leal. Ciudad Cayalá conveys a human story of meaning and belonging in which local identity can be celebrated. To many Guatemalans, it has become a place of hope and happiness.


Robert A.M. Stern

As Robert A.M. Stern completes his long and transformative tenure at the Yale School of Architecture, his role in promoting an expansive view of architecture cannot be overstated. Mr. Stern’s decades of teaching and his embrace of plurality in architectural education have hugely advanced the causes of classical and traditional architecture and urbanism. His many books and publications, including his renowned five-volume New York series, Paradise Planned: The Garden Suburb and the Modern City, and most recently Pedagogy and Place: 100 Years of Architecture Education at Yale, have set new standards in architectural scholarship. A career-long practitioner-as-educator, Mr. Stern has had an immeasurable impact on generations of students worldwide. No one has done more to enlarge the possibilities of architecture in the 21st century.


Anne Day

Anne Day has photographed internationally for a wide range of publications. She was the principal photographer for five books by Henry Hope Reed as well as the Classical America series publication, Edwin Howland Blashfield: Master American Muralist, and her timeless photographs have been featured in many publications about classical architecture. Ms. Day’s work beautifully illuminates the symmetry, elegance, and proportion of classical buildings, and most importantly how light affects them. Applying the conviction that every classical building is designed with daylight in mind, Ms. Day has exquisitely captured some of America’s greatest buildings including the New York Public Library, the Library of Congress, and the United States Capitol building.


Paula Wallace and the Savannah College of Art and Design

Under Paula Wallace’s visionary leadership, the Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD) revived the city of Savannah through the adaptive reuse of historic buildings and a reinvention of campus planning, using the city itself as a campus that instructs and inspires. Paula Wallace’s SCAD is the urban equivalent of Thomas Jefferson’s lawn.

The 2016 Arthur Ross Award winners were selected by a jury that included Robert Davis (Jury Chair), Christine Franck, Kirk Henckels, Michael Lykoudis, Scott Merrill, and James L. Strickland. Co-Chairs of this year’s Arthur Ross Awards include Gilbert P. Schafer III, Suzanne Tucker, and Bunny Williams. Honorary Chairs include Janet C. Ross, Suzanne R. Santry, and Ambassador William J. vanden Heuvel.

Established in 1982 by Arthur Ross and Henry Hope Reed, the Awards recognize the achievements and contributions of architects, painters, sculptors, artisans, interior designers, landscape designers, educators, publishers, patrons, and others dedicated to preserving and advancing the classical tradition.

Of this year’s Awards, ICAA President, Peter Lyden, said: “Now in its 35th year, the Arthur Ross Awards play a fundamental role in recognizing the professionals and organizations that have made a lasting impact on the practice and appreciation of the classical tradition. The ICAA is deeply honored to celebrate the 2016 Award winners and their profound influence on the future of classicism here in the United States and around the world.”

The 2016 Arthur Ross Awards celebration at The University Club on May 2nd will commence with cocktails at 7 PM. The Awards dinner and ceremony will follow at 8 PM. To purchase tickets for the event, please contact Kathleen Maloney Lo at (212) 730-9646 × 106 or at Or register online here.

First Image: Thomas Aquinas College Chapel, Image Credit: Stephen Schafer

Second Image: Paseo Cayalá at Ciudad Cayalá, Guatemala, Image Credit: Vicente Aguirre

Third Image: Robert A.M. Stern at Yale University

Fourth Image: Cover Image by Anne Day for The New York Public Library: The Architecture and Decoration of the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building

Fifth Image: Eckburg Hall, Savannah College of Art and Design